• Register

Chicago Area Media Outlets & Journalists Receive 2013 Peter Lisagor Awards

Yesterday at the Union League Club of Chicago, the Chicago Headline Club handed out its annual Peter Lisagor Awards, honoring local media professionals' "superior contributions to journalism." Awards are given to both local media organizations and individuals. Here is a look at the winners from last night's 36th annual Peter Lisagor Awards for Exemplary Journalism banquet...

The biggest winners at the Lisagor Awards event was by far the Chicago Tribune, which saw 14 awards, including a special Watchdog Award for Excellence in Public Interest Reporting given to the Tribune's Christy Gutowski and Bill Ruthhart for their "Children At Risk" series. In addition, the Tribune picked up another seven awards for its Chicago Magazine and another two awards for its Hoy! publication. Collectively, including individual awards for staffers, the Chicago Tribune brought in 23 awards.

On top of all that, Chicago Tribune columnist and editorial board member Clarence Page was one of two men honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Page first joined the the Chicago Tribune in 1969 before being drafted into war. He rejoined the newspaper in 1971 and has been there ever since.

The other Lifetime Achievement Award honoree was WBBM-AM investigative reporter John Cody, who has been with the radio station since 1967.

The Chicago Sun-Times won seven Lisagor Awards, including having reporter Kim Janssen winning the very special Anne Keegan Award for "Reporting on the Little Guy." Three other Sun-Times-owned publications did well yesterday, too. The Southtown Star won five awards, the Chicago Reader won three, and the Pioneer Press won two. In all, Sun-Times Media newspapers and staffers won 17 awards.

Other big winners last night include WBEZ-FM who took in eight awards, The Times of Northwest Indiana who earned six awards, and Crain's Chicago Business, who also earned six awards. The Daily Herald, the Chicago Reporter, and the Associated Press each won five awards. Winning three awards each was Bloomberg News and the Chicago Jewish Star.

Winning two awards each were: WBBM-AM, WMAQ-TV, WPWR-TV, the Northwest Herald, Windy City Times, Austin Talks, and BetterGovernment.org. WFLD-TV and the Better Government Association both share in two Lisagor Awards for an investigative story they worked on jointly.

Each winning one award this year were: WLS-TV, WTTW-TV ("Chicago Tonight"), DNAInfo-Chicago, the Chicago Journal, Catalyst-Chicago, Suburban Life Publications, Huffington Post, Playboy, Forbes, the Journal-Topics, the Medill Justice Project, Evanston Roundtable, Sheridan Road Magazine, Daily Law Bulletin, American Medical News, Hospitals and Health Networks Magazine, and Angie's List Magazine.

A complete list of winners and honorees can be seen at this link HERE.

The Chicago Headline Club is the local chapter of the national Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ). It is the largest local chapter for the SPJ in the country. In 1977, the Chicago Headline Club established the Peter Lisagor Awards to inspire and honor local journalists in Lisagor's name. There are over 100 categories each year.

Peter Lisagor, who passed away in December 1976, was the Chicago Daily News' Washington bureau chief from 1959-1976. A Chicagoan since he was 14, Lisagor was one of the country's most highly-respected and known journalists, thanks in part to his nationally syndicated column and frequent guest appearances on news/political television talk shows.

CRM Website Information

The Chicagoland Radio & Media website (abbreviated as CRM) is a celebration of all things relating to Chicago-area media matters. CRM is a news source, a location for fans to voice their opinions, and an online museum of Chicago media's past and present, with a hopeful eye to its future. For the visitors, readers, and fans of the website, CRM is a both a resource and a release, both educational and an escape, and both factual and fun.

If it has a connection to Chicago area radio, television, print, and/or other forms of media -- information on it can be found here at ChicagolandRadioAndMedia.com!