WBBM-AM, WBEZ-FM, Rivet Radio Win 2016 Regional Murrow Awards

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) today announced the winners of the 2016 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards. The awards recognize outstanding achievements by radio, television, and online news organizations nationally and worldwide. Three Chicago news organizations earned such recognition from the RTDNA this year.

To make sure that news organizations around the country have a fair chance at being recognized, the United States is split up into 13 regions, with a 14th region for international candidates. Those regions are then divided into Large Market and Small Market, and again by Radio and Television. Each region also has a Non-Broadcast (online) division. Chicago is part of the Large Market of Region 7, which includes Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio.

This year, from over 4,300 national entries submitted to the RTDNA, three Chicago news outlets won a total of ten awards. WBBM-AM and WBEZ-FM each won three awards, while Chicago-based news app Rivet Radio won four awards. No Chicago television outlet won any awards for this year.

The Chicago media recipients of 2016 Edward R. Murrow Awards were:

Large Market Radio:

8:00am Newscast - December 2, 2015

Breaking News
"Laquan McDonald"

News Series
"Turning Point - Cuba in Transition"

Feature Reporting
"Need to get out of swim class? Find Dr. Fong"

Reporting: Hard News
"Mayor Emanuel's Press Team Defends Eavesdropping on Reporters' Conversations with Aldermen"

Use of Sound
"Drumming For Dollars As A Chicago Bucket Boy"

Non-Broadcast Affiliated Organizations:

Small Online News Organization Audio Feature
"Under the Skin: A Look at Implantable Tech"
Rivet Radio

Small Online News Organization Audio Investigative Reporting
"Our Glass Desk Exploded. Yours Could, Too."
Rivet Radio

Small Online News Organization Audio Newscast
Rivet Radio Morning News with James VanOsdol
Rivet Radio

Small Online News Organization Overall Excellence
Rivet Radio

To see the complete list of Region 7 winners of the 2016 Edward R. Murrow Awards, as well as links to hear most of the winning entries, visit this link HERE.

All of the regional winners of the 2016 Edward R. Murrow Awards will be automatically entered into the annual National Edward R. Murrow Awards competition. Those winners will be announced in June.

Since 1971, the RTDNA has been honoring excellence in electronic journalism by awarding the Edward R. Murrow Awards. The Murrow Award winners are honored for demonstrating the spirit of excellence that the late broadcaster Edward R. Murrow once made a standard for the news profession. These awards are given to the news organizations, not the individuals involved with their creation. The winning organizations receive an Edward R. Murrow Award trophy.