• Register

WBBM-AM, WBEZ-FM, Rivet Radio Win 2016 National Murrow Awards

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) today announced the winners of the 2016 National Edward R. Murrow Awards. The awards recognize outstanding achievements by radio, television, and online news organizations nationally and worldwide. Three Chicago news organizations earned such recognition from the RTDNA this year.

This past April, three Chicago news outlets won a total of ten regional Murrow awards. WBBM-AM and WBEZ-FM each won three awards, while Chicago-based news app Rivet Radio won four awards.

Those same three Chicago audio news outlets each won national recognition today.

The national Murrow awards are split up into eight categories:
Small Market Radio
Large Market Radio
Network Radio
Small Market Television
Large Market Television
Network Television
Small Online News Organization
Large Online News Organization

The Chicago winners on a national level were...

Large Market Radio:
Breaking News

"Laquan McDonald"
WBBM-AM/Newsradio 780 & 105.9

Network Radio:
Continuing Coverage

"Puerto Rico Exports Its Drug Addicts to Chicago"
WBEZ & This American Life

Small Online News Organization:
Investigative Reporting (Audio)

"Our Glass Desk Exploded. Yours Could, Too."
Rivet Radio

Charlie Meyerson, Rivet Radio's Vice President of Editorial & Development, said in an internal memo thanking Rivet's staffers: "I'm happy to share the great news that, less than three years after Rivet's public debut, our team has won its second national Edward R. Murrow Award from the Radio Television Digital News Organization: The top prize in the Audio Investigative Reporting category for small online news organizations."

He added: "This caps a tremendous journalism awards season for Rivet -- a run in which we earned three first-place prizes in the four Chicago Headline Club Peter Lisagor Awards categories for which we were finalists; four regional Murrow awards; and three top awards (two firsts and a second) in the Illinois Associated Press Broadcasters Association contest, including the prestigious Outstanding News Operation award (first time in ...well, forever... that hasn't gone to a traditional broadcast station)."

Since 1971, the RTDNA has been honoring excellence in electronic journalism by awarding the Edward R. Murrow Awards. The honors are named after American radio and television broadcast journalist, Murrow, who is best known for his high profile role as a foreign correspondent during World War II and for a line of reports that contributed to the downfall of Senator Joseph McCarthy. The Murrow Award winners are honored for demonstrating the spirit of excellence that Murrow once made a standard for the news profession. These awards are given to the news organizations, not the individuals involved with their creation. The winning organizations receive an Edward R. Murrow Award trophy.

The complete list of 2016 National Edward R. Murrow Award winners can be seen at this link HERE.

The CHICAGOLAND RADIO & MEDIA website is the #1 resource for news, information, discussions and celebrations of all things related to Chicago radio, television, newspapers and more. Please help support the website by clicking on the "Donate" button below! THANK YOU for your backing!

CRM Website Information

The Chicagoland Radio & Media website (abbreviated as CRM) is a celebration of all things relating to Chicago-area media matters. CRM is a news source, a location for fans to voice their opinions, and an online museum of Chicago media's past and present, with a hopeful eye to its future. For the visitors, readers, and fans of the website, CRM is a both a resource and a release, both educational and an escape, and both factual and fun.

If it has a connection to Chicago area radio, television, print, and/or other forms of media -- information on it can be found here at ChicagolandRadioAndMedia.com!