• Register

WBBM-AM, WBEZ-FM, WGN-TV Win 2017 Regional Murrow Awards

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced the winners of the 2017 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards. The awards recognize outstanding achievements by radio, television, and online news organizations nationally and worldwide. Four Chicago news organizations earned such recognition from the RTDNA this year.

To make sure that news organizations around the country have a fair chance at being recognized, the United States is split up into 13 regions, with a 14th region for international candidates. Those regions are then divided into Large Market and Small Market, and again by Radio and Television. Each region also has a digital/online news division. Chicago is part of the Large Market of Region 7, which includes Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio.

This year, from nearly 4,300 national entries submitted to the RTDNA, four Chicago news outlets won a total of seven awards. WBBM-AM won three awards, WBEZ-FM won two awards, WGN-TV won one award, and Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism also won a single award.

The Chicago media recipients of 2017 Edward R. Murrow Awards were:

Large Market Radio:

Overall Excellence
WBBM Newsradio 780 & 105.9

Breaking News
"The Rally That Never Was"

7:05pm Newscast, March 11, 2016

Excellence in Video
"One Block, Zero Shootings: How one mom is building community in Englewood"

Excellence in Writing
"The Gross Gatherings: A climate fight on Chicago's South Side"

Large Market Television:

Hard News
"The Rocket Docket"

Small Digital News Organizations:

Feature Reporting
"A reminder of what's lost"
The Medill Justice Project (Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism)

To see the complete list of Region 7 winners of the 2017 Edward R. Murrow Awards, as well as links to hear most of the winning entries, visit this link HERE.

All of the regional winners of the 2017 Edward R. Murrow Awards will be automatically entered into the annual National Edward R. Murrow Awards competition. Those winners will be judged in May and announced in June.

Since 1971, the RTDNA has been honoring excellence in electronic journalism by awarding the Edward R. Murrow Awards. The Murrow Award winners are honored for demonstrating the spirit of excellence that the late broadcaster Edward R. Murrow once made a standard for the news profession. These awards are given to the news organizations, not the individuals involved with their creation. The winning organizations receive an Edward R. Murrow Award trophy.

The CHICAGOLAND RADIO & MEDIA website is the #1 resource for news, information, discussions and celebrations of all things related to Chicago radio, television, newspapers and more. Please help support the website by clicking on the "Donate" button below! THANK YOU for your backing!

CRM Website Information

The Chicagoland Radio & Media website (abbreviated as CRM) is a celebration of all things relating to Chicago-area media matters. CRM is a news source, a location for fans to voice their opinions, and an online museum of Chicago media's past and present, with a hopeful eye to its future. For the visitors, readers, and fans of the website, CRM is a both a resource and a release, both educational and an escape, and both factual and fun.

If it has a connection to Chicago area radio, television, print, and/or other forms of media -- information on it can be found here at ChicagolandRadioAndMedia.com!